ARC, fantasy, Five Star Book, review, ya

Top 5 Saturday

It’s finally the weekend! This week wasn’t as long as last week was, but man was it rough.

I found Top 5 Saturday over at Devouring Books. This is a meme where you rate your top 5 anything! Series to read, standalones to read, most looked forward to releases.

So today I will give you my top 5 releases I’m looking forward to in February!

  1. Ink In the Blood by Kim Smejkal

I was so sad I didn’t get this arc. Not even gonna lie. When I read the synopsis I knew I had to have it. It comes out Feb 11!

“A lush, dark YA fantasy debut that weaves together tattoo magic, faith, and eccentric theater in a world where lies are currency and ink is a weapon, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake.” – Goodreads

2. The Shadows Between Us by Tricia Levenseller

Read my review here!

When Tricia hinted at this novel and called it a Slytherin love story last year, I knew it was for me. This releases Feb 25!

“Alessandra is tired of being overlooked, but she has a plan to gain power:

1) Woo the Shadow King.
2) Marry him.
3) Kill him and take his kingdom for herself.” – Goodreads

3. The Queen’s Assassin by Melissa de la Cruz

I received a beautiful physical ARC of this book and I am SO EXCITED! I love books about assassins (for inspo for my dnd character) so I can’t wait to dive in! The Queen’s Assassin came out Feb 4!

“Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen, this is the first novel in a sweeping YA fantasy-romance duet about a deadly assassin, his mysterious apprentice, and the country they are sworn to protect from #1 NYT bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz.” – Goodreads

4. Belle Recolte by Linsey Miller

I have been so hyped for this book! I am a sucker for nurses/doctors as MCs, especially if they are female! You can read this now! Belle Revolte dropped on Feb 4!

“Emilie des Marais is more at home holding scalpels than embroidery needles and is desperate to escape her noble roots to serve her country as a physician. But society dictates a noble lady cannot perform such gruesome wor.” – Goodreads

5. All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace

First, this cover! It’s what drew me in and made me want it right then and there! Plus there are mermaids and magic. YES. PLEASE. All the Stars and Teeth became available to read on Feb 4!

“Set in a kingdom where danger lurks beneath the sea, mermaids seek vengeance with song, and magic is a choice, Adalyn Grace’s All the Stars and Teeth is a thrilling fantasy for fans of Stephanie Garber’s Caraval and Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series.” – Goodreads

There are my top 5 February Releases! Three are already out so you can pick them up right now!

Have you read any of these? Are you looking forward to them? What were your thoughts? Let me know in the comments below!

Until next time…

ARC, fantasy, Five Star Book, review, Romance, ya

The Shadows Between Us ARC Review!

Thank you to Netgalley and Feiwel and Friends for a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Alessandra is tired of being overlooked, but she has a plan to gain power:

1) Woo the Shadow King.
2) Marry him.
3) Kill him and take his kingdom for herself.

No one knows the extent of the freshly crowned Shadow King’s power. Some say he can command the shadows that swirl around him to do his bidding. Others say they speak to him, whispering the thoughts of his enemies. Regardless, Alessandra knows what she deserves, and she’s going to do everything within her power to get it.

But Alessandra’s not the only one trying to kill the king. As attempts on his life are made, she finds herself trying to keep him alive long enough for him to make her his queen—all while struggling not to lose her heart. After all, who better for a Shadow King than a cunning, villainous queen?

– Goodreads

Tricia hinted at this novel back in 2019 when Words & Whimsy had the pleasure of chatting with her. I knew then and there I needed it. I was so excited to get this ARC. I was even more excited when I read the first line:

“They’ve never found the body of the first and only boy who broke my heart.
And they never will.”

Omg, guys. That first line, for me, ranks up there with the first line for Nevernight. I was instantly pulled in and wanted to put everything on hold to read this book, Work, sleep, cleaning. I didn’t want any of it. I just had to know about Alessandra’s journey. I read every moment I could. In the elevator, walking to my office, while on hold making appointments. I could not put this novel down.

Alessandra’s goal in simple. Make the king fall in love with her, like so many men have done. Marry the king. Kill the king and take the country as her own. Simple, right? It was, at first. Until these nasty things called feelings got involved.

I loved seeing how Alessandra and Kallias’ story and relationship progressed. I love an enemies to lovers story and this delivered! There were even sexy bits! There was also a tiny bit of a love triange.

Alessandra is not a character you root for. Quite honestly, she’s pretty evil. But you are shown enough vulnerability and kindness to make you fall for her. She even comments on her kindness and how it is out of character. She really reminds me of my dnd character which is part of the reason I think I love her so much. She firmly believes she is the best, smartest person in the room and no one can make her think differently. She’ll also kill you without a second thought.

“I try for a humble tone, but since I’ve no idea what that sounds like, I’m not so sure I manage it.”

Kallias is not so nice, himself. He sees women paraded in front of him day in and day out so he can choose one he likes to marry and have an heir. The only girl he is interested in is the one who will pay him no mind. Make fun of him, even! Who does that to a king?

Their relationship progressed in the best way. First Kallias sees her only as a friend, a confidant. But slowly he sees how cunning and ruthless Alessandra is. He then realizes she is meant to be his queen and he will do anything to have her.

There were small issues throughout the book that Kallias and Alessandra solved together. The ending was so surprising to me! I didn’t see the twist coming and I loved it!

I am so glad I was fortunate enough to be able to read an ARC of this book. I loved it so much. If you want in on the fun you can preorder here:

| Amazon| Barnes & Noble | Books-A-Million |

Also checkout the preorder incentive here if you ordered a hardback copy!

Are you planning on picking up The Shadows Between Us? If you do I want to know your thoughts!

Until next time…